MRAC logo.jpg

SIOUX CITY | One of them is a speedster and the other’s a slugger.

Bishop Heelan’s Matt Nelson and Sergeant Bluff-Luton’s Ryley McGregor were honored earlier this week as first-team Class 3A outfielders on the Iowa Newspaper Association’s all-state baseball team. Today, they’re among two of the four repeat first-team selections on the Missouri River Activities Conference squad.

Pitcher Brady Click of MRAC champion Sergeant Bluff-Luton and Heelan infielder Colin Kasperbauer also received first-team status for the second straight year.

McGregor had stolen 77 bases the last two seasons for Sergeant Bluff-Luton squads that won MRAC titles. His 46 steals (in 51 attempts) and 64 runs were part of a senior year that saw him bat .471 with two home runs and 15 RBIs.

Nelson hit .400 or better in each of the last two years for Heelan teams that reached the state tournament. This season, he batted .429 with two home runs, 48 RBIs and a .558 slugging percentage that also included 10 doubles and two triples.

Nelson’s teammate, Kasperbauer, hit .405 with two home runs and 29 RBIs. Kasperbauer’s team-best .621 slugging percentage also included seven doubles and 10 triples.

Click was a sharp 8-0 on the mound with a 3.21 ERA. Offensively, he batted .340 with three home runs and 37 RBIs.

Sergeant Bluff-Luton (29-9, 19-5 MRAC) was also represented on the first team by pitcher T.J. Heineman (8-2, 2.73 ERA), infielder Chris Kroll (.364, 6 HR, 37 RBIs) and outfielder Alec Davis (.351, 1 HR, 19 RBIs). Davis was a second-team selection a year earlier.

Two more athletes also improved from second-team status the previous season, Heelan infielder Jackson Boever (.388, 2 HR, 39 RBIs) and North pitcher Trent Frerichs (5-2, 2.63 ERA).

West’s Joel Stroman (.416, 1 HR, 33 RBIs) made the first team as a utility player.

Bishop Heelan’s Matthew Kerian (.318, 28 RBIs) dropped from the first team to the second team this season while being selected as a utility player. Kerian was the squad’s top pitcher, posting a 7-1 record with a 2.72 ERA.

Three North athletes won second-team honors for the second straight year – outfielder Noah Weeter (.342, 4 HR, 24 RBIs), infielder Aaron Eybers (.385, 29 RBIs) and catcher Hunter Krommenhoek (.311, 17 RBIs).

Heelan outfielder Hunter Hope (.361, 3 HR, 32 RBIs) also made the second team for the second straight year.


Load comments