ALTA, Iowa | Musical success at Alta-Aurelia High School has created a problem.

They're running out of room in the trophy case.

Director Corbet Butler and his jazz band won their third straight Class 2A title on Tuesday evening, topping a field of 15 bands in the Iowa Jazz Championships at the Iowa Events Center. Northwest Iowa rival Okoboji High School finished second in the Class 2A race.

Alta-Aurelia won the title in 2012 under the direction of Ryan Meyer, who now directs the jazz band at Harlan (Iowa) High School, which finished third in Class 3A. Butler, a graduate of Spirit Lake (Iowa) High School, has directed the last two victorious campaigns for the jazz band at Alta-Aurelia.

Last week, Alta-Aurelia's jazz choir won its first state title in that discipline. Eight students performed with the groups that won both state titles.

"Is there space in the trophy case?" Butler asked, repeating a question directed at him. "We were kind of thinking about that. Our music department is clicking on all cylinders now. It's an exciting time to be a Warrior."

Three Northwest Iowa schools earned a berth in the evening finals after preliminary performances on Tuesday. Sioux City North squared off against West Des Moines Valley in the 4A finals, while Alta-Aurelia and Okoboji faced each other in the 2A enrollment category.

Valley reigned in Class 4A, and Alta-Aurelia bettered Okoboji for the first time this year and carted home the hardware for that bulging trophy case.

"My hat is off to director Greg Forney and his Okoboji High School jazz band," Butler said. "They had a fantastic group of kids and a fantastic show. My kids played phenomenally twice on Tuesday. I think we peaked at just the right time."

Alta-Aurelia graduates just two seniors from this band -- Tayler Rohwer on tenor sax and Spencer Bezoni on trumpet -- and should be a formidable force in the 2015 jazz arena.

Junior Michael Swanson earned an outstanding soloist award for Alta-Aurelia on Tuesday, while trombonist Shawn Henley, a sophomore, took home one of four outstanding performer awards given in Class 2A.

Outstanding performers from Northwest Iowa included: Michaela Bretley from Gehlen Catholic, Zach Ludwig from South Central Calhoun, Austin Kolegraft from Okoboji and Tyler Ohl from Okoboji.



Load comments