Subscribe for 33¢ / day

NORTH SIOUX CITY -- Two incumbents who sought re-election to the North Sioux City Council were defeated in voting Tuesday.

The four positions before voters were one seat each in Wards 1, 2, 3 and 4, as part of the eight-seat council.

In Ward 1, Tena Carpenter got 48 votes to defeat Councilman Harold Beavers, who received 41 votes.

Nate Blaeser got 37 votes to win the Ward 4 seat, defeating Councilwoman Joan Christiansen, who garnered 21 votes.

The North Sioux City Council terms will run for two years, beginning May 7.

The other council members are  Rodd Slater, Lonnie Green, Lesa Cropley, Dan Parks, Doug Berg and Tammy Rieff. Parks and Rieff also won re-election Tuesday in unopposed races.

Randy Fredrickson is the mayor of North Sioux City. Fredrickson and Slater, Green, Cropley and Berg will be up for election in spring 2019.




County and education reporter

Load comments