Spencer downtown aerial

Voters in Spencer, Iowa, above, elected Kevin Robinson as mayor Tuesday. Robinson knocked off Reynold Peterson, who had served as mayor of the Clay County seat since 2004.

SPENCER, Iowa – Voters unseated at least five mayors of Northwest Iowa cities Tuesday.

Reynold Peterson, Spencer’s mayor since 2004, lost to Kevin Robinson, who scored a decisive, 896 to 441 victory, according to unofficial results.

Incumbent mayors also lost in Everly, Marcus, Milford and Sutherland.

In Everly, former councilman Bradley Behrens knocked off Mayor Roger Putnam, 84-59.

Harlan Hansen defeated Marcus Mayor Gary Husman in a three-candidate race. Hansen tallied 180 votes, compared to 152 for Husman and 113 for Carl F. Nelson.

In another three-way race, Steven Anderson cruised to the mayor's seat in Milford, as incumbent Bill Reinsbach finished a distant second. Anderson captured 455 votes, compared to 85 for Reinsbach and 21 for Mark Wollenburg.

Sutherland voters elected Kay Gifford as mayor as incumbent Elizabeth Peters finished at the back of a three-candidate field. Gifford tallied 86 votes, compared to 79 for Paul Hibbing and 20 for Peters.

Battle Creek Mayor Lloyd Holmes was clinging to a slim lead over challenger Charles Pierce in unofficial results. In initial counting, Holmes had 58 votes to 55 for Pierce.

In Whiting, the race for mayor also was too close to call and could be headed to a recount. Tom Marr tallied 29 votes, with Thomas F. Rich Jr. three behind with 26.

Across the region, election officials continued to count write-in votes Wednesday that will determine the winners of mayoral and council seats in several cities.

In the small Buena Vista County town of Truesdale, James Weiland was the only candidate for mayor on Tuesday's ballot. But Weiland died at age 72 on Oct. 10, too late to have his name removed. He received zero votes Tuesday, while 16 write-in votes were cast, according to election officials. The person with the most write-ins will be declared the winner of the seat.

In Albert City, 165 write-in votes were cast for mayor, leaving the outcome of that race in doubt. There were two candidates on the ballot, Karl Erickson III, who received 26 votes, and Ben Peck, who had 13. Erickson is the son of the current mayor, Carl Erickson Jr., who decided not to seek re-election.

Ashton Mayor Pat DeVries appeared to win re-election with 32 write-in votes. DeVries and his fellow city council members were forced to run write-in campaigns because they didn't return their nomination papers before the deadline.

In at least seven other area cities -- Arion, Deloit, Mapleton, Moorhead, Rossie, Webb and Westside -- there were no candidates for mayor on the ballot. In each town, the write-in with the most votes will win the seat. Write-in totals for those cities were not immediately available Wednesday.


Managing editor

Load comments