Robert Neustrom


A few days after leading the Nebraska baseball team to a Big Ten regular-season championship, Darin Erstad was named the league's coach of the year Tuesday.

After finishing second three times in six seasons, the Huskers broke through last weekend at Penn State, sealing the season title with a 21-3 win against the Nittany Lions.

The Huskers are 34-18-1 (16-7-1 in the Big Ten) this season, and that included winning seven of eight Big Ten series. Erstad is 210-137-1 in six seasons at Nebraska.

Earlier this year Erstad became just the fifth head coach in program history to total 200 wins and he is four wins shy of tying Dave Van Horn for fourth place on the all-time wins list. Erstad is the first Husker baseball coach to be named conference coach of the year since 2005, when Mike Anderson received the top honor from the Big 12.

Four Huskers were named to either the All-Big Ten first or third teams. Jake Meyers and Scott Schreiber received first-team honors after outstanding junior seasons, and Angelo Altavilla and Jake Hohensee were named to the third team.

Meyers earned first-team honors after excelling in the outfield and on the mound. The Omaha Westside graduate is second in the Big Ten in runs scored (48) and sixth in on-base percentage (.431).

On the mound, Meyers tied for the league lead in wins with eight. The Huskers went 11-1-1 when Meyers started a game this season.

Schreiber was named to the first team for the second straight year. He ranked sixth in the Big Ten in both hits (70) and RBIs (46), while ranking eighth in doubles (14) and ninth in batting average (.335).

After playing in 14 games, including two starts, as a true freshman last season, Altavilla became Nebraska’s starting shortstop in 2017. The sophomore ranks second on the team in batting average (.323), doubles (13) and RBIs (37).

Hohensee missed the entire 2016 season due to Tommy John surgery and returned in 2017 as Nebraska’s Friday starter. The Lincoln East graduate earned third-team honors after going 6-3 in 13 starts.

Nebraska's Luke Roskam was a unanimous pick for the Big Ten all-freshman team after hitting .270 in 37 games, including 31 starts.


Sports reporter

Load comments