SIOUX CITY | Briar Cliff, the GPAC regular season champion for the second consecutive season, put a pair of players on the top team for the second straight year.

Senior Bryan Forbes repeated as a first-team selection with Erich Erdman, last year's freshman of the year, also earning a spot on the top team.

The two Chargers are joined on the first team by Northwestern junior Colton Kooima and Morningside senior Bryce Koch.

Forbes enjoyed a standout regular season pouring in 17.2 points, 7.7 rebounds and 1.9 steals this season. He also led the team in steals with 63 and blocks with 26. Erdman led the Chargers with 18.3 points and was second in the NAIA hitting 93 percent of his free throws. He went over 1,000 points in his career Tuesday night against Northwestern.

Kooima, who helped lead the Red Raiders to the GPAC tournament title on Tuesday, led the GPAC at 24.1 points, fifth in the NAIA. Kooima was also third in the NAIA in free throw percentage at 91 percent as he was named to the top team for the third time.

Koch, who led the Mustangs at 15.7 points, shot 61 percent from the floor and was second in the conference pulling down 7.8 rebounds. Koch has amassed 1,252 points and 694 rebounds during his career for averages of 10.1 points and 5.6 rebounds per game. He is the 12th leading scorer in Morningside history.

Briar Cliff head coach Nic Nelson was named the GPAC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season. Nelson led Briar Cliff to the national quarterfinals a year ago and sits at 26-7 returning to the national tournament this season.

Morningside sophomore Brody Egger, Briar Cliff senior Shane Graves, Dordt's Alec Henrickson and Northwestern's Nathan Wedel were all named to the second team.

Dakota Wesleyan senior Tate Martin was named the conference Player of the Year after averaging 14.3 pints, 2.5 rebounds and 8.8 assists.

Concordia's Chandler Folkerts was named the Defensive Player of the Year and DWU's Ty Hoglund was the GPAC's Freshman of the Year.


Sports editor

Load comments