Kassidy De Jong

De Jong

SIOUX CITY -- The Morningside women's basketball team put a pair of players on the GPAC All-Conference basketball first team on Wednesday.

The Mustangs are represented by senior guard Lexi Ackerman and junior guard Madison Braun. They are joined on the top team by Northwestern sophomore forward Kassidy De Jong.

Ackerman is on the first team for the third time in her career joined Dani Gass, Ashlynn Muhl and Chelsie Trask as the only three-time first-team All-GPAC women’s basketball performers in Morningside history. She was second on the team at 15.1 points per game and was fifth in the GPAC averaging 3.3 assists.

Braun was a second-team selection a year ago ,but led the Mustangs at 15.9 points per game this season and led the GPAC and was third in the nation at 3.5 steals a game. Braun has a team-high 26 double figure scoring performances and leads the team with nine scoring performances of 20 points or more.

De Jong, who missed time this season with a hand injury, repeated as a first-team selection after being named the conference freshman of the year a season ago. The Red Raider finished second in the conference with an 18.2 scoring average. De Jong, who scored her 1,000th career point in the Red Raiders' semifinal loss to Concordia last weekend, put up double figures in 21 of her 25 games played this season.

Briar Cliff was represented by freshman Kailey Burke on the second team. Burke shot an impressive 52 percent from the floor while putting in 14.1 points a game.

Dordt's Jamie Gesink was named to the second team after averaging 9.7 points per game and 5.7 rebounds.

Morningside's Lauren Lehmkuhl and the Red Raiders' Darbi Gustafson and Renee Maneman, the NAIA leader in assists with 226, were second-team selections.

GPAC regular season and tournament champion Concordia has three first-team players. Doane's Hannah Barnard was named the GPAC Player of the Year after leading the conference in scoring at 20.9 points per game. Concordia's Mary Janovich was named the GPAC Defensive Player of the Year and teammate Philomena Lammers was named the Freshman of the year. Bulldog head coach Drew Olson was named the GPAC Coach of the year.


Sports editor

Load comments