Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Kassidy De Jong

De Jong

SIOUX CITY -- Morningside's Madison Braun has been selected as the Great Plains Athletic Conference Women’s Basketball Player of the Year and headlines the GPAC Basketball All-Conference Teams for 2017-18.

Bruan, a senior, averaged 20.5 points per game to lead the conference in scoring. She also averaged 3.9 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 3.2 steals per game for the Mustangs. Braun was also a first-team representative as a junior as well.

Braun was the lone first-team selection for the Mustangs but freshman Sierra Mitchell was recognized as the GPAC Freshman of the year. Mitchell averaged 11.9 points per game and was second on the team with 79 made 3-pointers to earn second-team All-GPAC honors. She is joined on the second team by sophomore forward Sydney Hupp who averaged 11.8 points this season.

Northwestern which finished tied for the runner-up spot in the GPAC standings had a pair of first-team players selected. Junior forward Kassidy De Jong and senior Renee Maneman were honored.

Now a three-time all-conference selection, De Jong averages 17 points per game, second best in the conference, and has scored in double figures in 27 games this season. The junior ranks second in the league in rebounding (7.8), ninth in field goal percentage (46 percent) and 10th in free throw percentage (77 percent).

Maneman earns first-team accolades after being named second team as a junior and honorable mention after her sophomore season. Maneman leads the NAIA in assists for the second consecutive year with 250 while scoring 10.7 points per game.

Northwestern also had a pair of second-teamers in junior center Darbi Gustafson and sophomore forward Anna Kiel. Gustafson ranks second on the team in both scoring (14.6) and rebounding (7.6) while Kiel averages 12.8 points and 5.7 rebounds per game while shooting a team-best 61 percent from the field.

Dordt sophomore Rachel Evavold made the second team for the Defenders. She led the team at 13.5 points and rebounds at 7.0.

Briar Cliff had three honorable mention selections in Johanna Vaske, Julie Targy and Logan Ehlers.

Dakota Wesleyan's Rylie Osthus and Hastings' Rachel Jeldon were named conference Co-Defensive Players of the Year, and Concordia coach Drew Olson, who led his team to the regular season and tournament titles, was named GPAC Coach of the Year.


Load comments