ina all-state basketball

Tillo represents metro on all-state first team

2014-03-18T00:15:00Z 2015-01-07T09:32:27Z Tillo represents metro on all-state first teamTERRY HERSOM Sioux City Journal

DES MOINES | Number 2 on Sioux City’s all-time boys basketball scoring list with his senior year still to come, North High’s Daniel Tillo is a first-team Iowa Newspaper Association all-stater for a second season in a row.

The 6-foot-5 junior wing man, who led North to its first state tournament win in 31 years, is one of seven circulation area athletes among the 32 first-team selections in the INA’s four-class all-state selections announced today.

Tillo finished the winter with a school-record 583 points and 273 total rebounds, both ranking first among the 48 teams comprising the state’s Class 4A ranks. He was second in scoring average at 21.6 points a game and fifth in rebounds per contest at 10.1 as North posted a 22-5 record, finishing fourth in the large-school division.

With 1,453 career points, the son of former North all-stater Vince Tillo trails only 2009 Bishop Heelan grad Brennan Cougill (1,602) on Sioux City’s all-time point list. He is fourth on the all-time metro chart with former South Sioux City teammates Mike Gesell (2,112) and Austin Groth (1,519) ranking first and third, respectively.

While Tillo is certainly on track to become a three-time first-team all-stater, the same is also now true of Levi Jansen, a 6-1 sophomore guard from MOC-Floyd Valley who is Northwest Iowa’s only first-team pick in Class 3A. Jansen averages 24.6 points this season, sixth high in 3A, leading a youthful team to the school’s fourth consecutive state tournament trip.

If not for an 80-foot shot to end the first half in a 69-67 first-round loss to eventual 3A runner-up De Witt Central Clinton, the Dutchmen might have made it to the finals.

Two prolific circulation area scorers are first-team picks in Class 2A, where Drake University recruit Casey Schlatter, a 6-8 forward from Iowa Falls-Alden, was the state’s runaway scoring leader, averaging 34.6 points a game. Rock Valley’s Andrew Van Ginkel and East Sac County’s Reed Tellinghuisen, meanwhile, averaged 25.4 and 23.5 points, respectively.

Van Ginkel, a 6-4 guard who has signed with the University of South Dakota to play football, led a 17-6 Rock Valley team that lost two games each to state tournament teams from MOC-Floyd Valley and West Lyon while falling twice in three meetings with Sioux Center’s Siouxland Conference champs.

Tellinghuisen, a 6-6 wing player who is headed to South Dakota State for basketball, led East Sac County to a 19-4 campaign, also contributing 7.8 rebounds a game while totaling 80 assists, 61 steals and 102 blocked shots.

Three Northwest Iowa athletes are first-team all-staters in Class 1A, Brandon Snyder of state champion West Lyon. The top eight players in the small school class (157 of a total 366 teams) also included Riley Francis, who helped Boyden-Hull win the Class 1A championship the last two years, and Dalton Anderson of Newell-Fonda, which was undefeated until a first-round state tournament loss to West Lyon.

Snyder, who quarterbacked West Lyon to its fourth state football title last fall, was the floor general for the Wildcats’ first-ever state tournament basketball team. Making the most of that opportunity, West Lyon won three state tournament games with increasing ease, prevailing by 15, 21 and 28 points to finish off a 23-5 season. The 6-1 senior, who averaged a team-high 13.7 points and logged a state-leading 214 assists, spurned several football scholarship offers to commit to Iowa as a recruited walk-on, aspiring to play safety for the Hawkeyes.

Francis, a 6-4 guard, playing for Boyden-Hull teams coached by his father, Bill, averaged 19.4 points this winter as the Comets went 14-11 in one of the strongest Siouxland Conference races ever. He led last year’s 25-3 state champs with 13.7 points a game and was a key reserve as a sophomore on another state title-winning squad that finished 26-2.

Anderson, a 6-3 forward, missed the season’s first seven games after fracturing a collarbone in the 8-man state football playoff semifinals. However, he came back to average a team-leading 16.7 points as the Mustangs reached their first state tournament in 10 years with a 25-0 record. Leading for much of the first three quarters in an unfortunate first-round pairing, Newell-Fonda fell victim to an impressive fourth-quarter surge that ignited unranked West Lyon to three straight double-digit wins and a state championship.

Northern Iowa recruit Wyatt Lohaus, a 6-2 guard who led Iowa City West to a record-tying third consecutive Class 4A state title, is the INA’s 2014 Mr. Basketball recipient. Lohaus is the son of former University of Iowa star Brad Lohaus, a 6-11, 230-pound power forward who played 11 seasons in the NBA.

Tillo is the area’s only Class 4A all-stater this season while there were three additional additional Class 3A selections -- Alec Henrickson of Spirit Lake and Tyler Borchers of Le Mars on the second team along with Yach Deng of Storm Lake on the third team.

Sioux Center’s Siouxland Conference champs, who dealt two losses to West Lyon, landed Andrew O’Donnell on the second team while the seventh state championship team from Hull Western Christian -- the only undefeated team in the state this season -- had Taylor Feenstra, the all-tournament captain in 2A, named to the third team.

West Lyon was the only area team to have more than one all-stater as South Dakota State football recruit Cody Bauman, a 6-5, 230-pound defensive end/post player, was a second-team choice in Class 1A. Also making the second unit in 1A were 6-4 junior Tyler Stumbo of Laurens-Marathon and 6-5 senior Blake Wiltgen of Le Mars Gehlen Catholic, 24-0 and ranked No. 1 before a 52-46 substate final loss to West Lyon’s eventual state champs.

Third-team Class 1A honors went to 6-3 junior Nic Lutmer of Central Lyon, a young and talented team that fashioned a 15-8 record despite facing two Siouxland Conference games each with the likes of Sioux Center, MOC-Floyd Valley, West Lyon and Rock Valley.

Copyright 2015 Sioux City Journal. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Latest scores and more from all sports

MLB:  News | Scoreboard NFL:  News | Scoreboard NBA:  News | Scoreboard
NHL:  News | Scoreboard NCAA FB:  News | Scoreboard NCAA BK:  News | Scoreboard
Golf:  News | Leaderboard Auto Racing:  News | Results Tennis:  News | Scoreboard
Other: MLS  |  Womens NCAA BK  |  WNBA  |  CFL  |  Minor League Baseball  |  NFL Draft  |  NBA Draft

Business Directory