Subscribe for 33¢ / day

DES MOINES | Elijah Hazekamp may be one of Northwest Iowa’s best athletes who never had a chance to play in the state boys basketball tournament.

Hazekamp, a 6-foot-6 Bishop Heelan senior, saw his statistical totals improve after each of his four seasons. During each of his three final campaigns, all as a starter, he shot 50 percent or better.

Elijah Hazekamp


A University of North Dakota basketball recruit who as a senior averaged 21.5 points and 13.0 rebounds for a squad that ended its season in the Class 3A substate championship finals for the second straight year, Hazekamp is one of three Siouxland first-team boys basketball all-state selection on the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association’s squad.

Hazekamp is a repeat 3A first-team pick. Remsen St. Mary’s senior Nicholas Ruden made the Class 1A all-state first team for the second straight year while Western Christian junior Jacob Vis was a first-team Class 2A all-state pick.

Hazekamp shot 51.2 percent in his final season for Coach Andy Foster’s Crusaders and that included a 45.1 percent total from 3-point range (46 of 102). He recorded four of his 19 double-doubles in each of his final four games, collecting the 60th of his career when he scored 24 points and grabbed 16 rebounds in a 76-66 loss to Sergeant Bluff-Luton in the substate finals.

Nicholas Ruden


Ruden, a 6-4 senior, averaged 13.4 points and 6.6 rebounds as Remsen St. Mary’s, for the second consecutive season, entered the 1A state tournament with an undefeated record. The War Eagle Conference championship squad coached by his father, Scott Ruden, finished fourth at Wells Fargo Arena for the second straight year.

Ruden shot 53.8 percent as a senior and finished his four-year career as Remsen St. Mary’s all-time scoring leader with 1,283 points. This season’s squad was one of Class 1A’s best, yielding an average of 41.79 points. Ruden contributed 24 blocked shots and 17 steals for a team that allowed 40 or less points 14 times.

Vis displayed what he could do as a starter, after starring off the bench a year earlier for a Western Christian program that won a second consecutive Class 2A state championship. For the second straight season, the 6-6 junior shot 71 percent, but the Wolfpack were upset by Carroll Kuemper in the substate finals.

Jacob Vis


Vis averaged 18.5 points and 8.8 rebounds as Coach Bill Harmsen’s Wolfpack finished the season with a 21-3 record. He also recorded 52 blocked shots and will enter his senior season with a career 71.1 field goal percentage.

The remaining four Northwest Iowa state tournament teams – Sioux City East (4A), Sergeant Bluff-Luton (3A), Sheldon (2A) and George-Little Rock (1A), each had at least one all-state selection.

East had a pair of third-team all-staters, senior forward Van Rees (17.3 ppg, 8.3 rpg) and junior guard Aidan Vanderloo (16.4 ppg, 52 of 99 3-point field goals).

The nephew of East Coach Ras Vanderloo reached third-team status for the second straight year. Rees claimed first-team honors as a junior.

A second-team 1A selection, George-Little Rock’s Caleb Terhark (10.2 ppg, 8.7 rpg) shot 61.4 percent for a program that last reached the state tournament in 2008. Third-team honors went to Kyle Boerhave (13.1 ppg, 9.0 rpg), who helped Sheldon take fourth place in last week’s state tournament as well as Sergeant Bluff-Luton’s Conner Groves (15.0 ppg, 66 3-point baskets, 80 assists).

South O’Brien’s Peyton Brasser (17.0 ppg, 8.3 rpg) recorded second-team 1A honors while Newell-Fonda’s Bryce Coppock (21.9 ppg, 96 assists, 54 steals) was a third-team 1A pick.

Tyus Arends (15.3 ppg, 78 assists, 42 steals), who helped Sioux Center win the Siouxland Conference title, was a second-team Class 2A all-state choice.

Muscatine senior Joe Wieskamp (33.5 ppg, 13.5 rpg) was selected as Mr. Basketball during Saturday’s IPSWA meeting. A 56 percent shooter, he helped the Muskies reach the Class 4A state tournament for the first time in 16 years and finished his career with a 4A-record 2,376 points, sixth on the state’s all-time list.


Class 1A

First Team

Jake Hilmer;North Linn;Jr.

Nicholas Ruden;Remsen St. Mary’s;Sr.

Brady Gavin;Martensdale-St. Marys;Sr.

Ryan Miller;North Linn;Sr.

Grant DeMeulenaere;Grand View Christian;Sr.

Jake Carleey;CB St. Albert;Sr.

Zach Martinek;West Fork;Jr.

Jesse Van Wyk;Lynnville-Sully;Sr.

Second Team

Paul Rundquist;Wapsie Valley;Jr.

T.J. Schnurr;Algona Garrigan;Jr.

Peyton Brasser;South O’Brien;Sr.

Joe Weber;Boyer Valley;Sr.

Carter Boothe;Central Decatur;Sr.

Caleb Terhark;George-Little Rock;Jr.

Brett Givens;Lisbon;Sr.

Brady Happel;Dunkerton;Jr.

Third Team

Caden Kickbush;Gladbrook-Reinbeck;Sr.

Codey Hicks;Janesville;Jr.

Brennan Sefrit;Bedford;Soph.

Keontae Luckett;New London;Jr.

Andrew Gibb;FD St. Edmond;Jr.

Thomas Hensley;CAM Anita;Sr.

Jack Kelley;Don Bosco;Jr.

Bryce Coppock;Newell-Fonda;Soph.

Class 2A

First Team

Trenton Massner;Wapello;Sr.

Parker Badding;Carroll Kuemper;Sr.

Alec Oberhauser;Aplington-Parkersburg;Sr.

Jacob Vis;Western Christian;Jr.

Dillon Faubel;Treynor;Sr.

Isaac Prewitt;Des Moines Christian;Sr.

Carter Cuvelier;Aplkington-Parkersburg;Jr.

Haris Hoffman;Cascade;Jr.

Second Team

Marco Balderas;South Hamilton;Sr.

Zaine Leedom;East Marshall;Sr.

Luke Empen;Goose Lake NE;Sr.

Tyus Arends;Sioux Center;Sr.

Jarod Nichols;Colfax-Mingo;Sr.

Ryan Schmitt;Van Meter;Jr.

Luke Clausen;Treynor;Sr.

James Betz;Garner-Hayfield-Ventura;Jr.

Third Team

Dev Patel;Camanche;Sr.

Beau Cornwell;West Branch;Jr.

Sam Snyder;Forest City;Sr.

R.J. Harris;AHSTW Avoca;Sr.

Mitch Gehling;Dyersville Beckman;Sr.

Jace Davidson;Pocahontas Area;Jr.

Drew Olson;Osage;Sr.

Kyle Boerhave;Sheldon;Sr.

Class 3A

First Team

Brady Sartorius;Mount Pleasant;Sr.

Luke Vaske;Norwalk;Sr.

Zach Lester;Clear Lake;Sr.

Elijah Hazekamp;Bishop Heelan;Sr.

Jarad Kruse;Oskaloosa;Sr.

Nate Mohr;Glenwood;Sr.

Andrew Blum;Glenwood;Sr.

Matthew Mims;Cedar Rapids Xavier;Sr.

Second Team

Cole Henry;Oskaloosa;Jr.

Derek Krogmann;West Delaware;Jr.

Jackson Molstead;Charles City;Jr.

Cooper Ross;Carroll;Sr.

Xavier Foster;Oskaloosa;Soph.

Bowen Born;Norwalk;Soph.

Steve Borneman;Dallas Center-Grimes;Sr.

Owen Coburn;Spirit Lake;Jr.

Third Team

Conner Groves;Jr.;Sergeant Bluff-Luton

Spencer Touro;Sr.;Benton Community

Scott Leonard;Atlantic;Sr.

Chase Zielke;Marion;Sr.

Luke Velky;Waverly-Shell Rock;Jr.

Jackson Joens;Cedar Rapids Xavier;Sr.

Gabe Shields;South Tama;Sr.

Shane Chamberlain;Harlan;Sr.

Class 4A

First Team

Joe Wieskamp;Muscatine;Sr.

A.J. Green;Cedar Falls;Sr.

Patrick McCaffery;Iowa City West;Jr.

D.J. Carton;Bettendorf;Jr.

Tyreke Locure;Des Moines North;Jr.

Garrett Sturtz;Newton;Sr.

Corvon Seales;North Scott;Sr.

Devonte Thedford;Des Moines Hoover;Sr.

Second Team

Nathan Johnson;Waukee;Sr.

CaRondis Harris-Anderson;Waterloo West;Sr.

Carter Stevens;Dubuque Senior;Sr.

Lucas Duax;Dubuque Hempstead;Sr.

Luke Appel;Marshalltown;Sr.

Trey Hutcheson;Linn-Mar;Jr.

Sam Ingoli;WDM Dowling;Sr.

Boston Grimes;Johnston;Sr.

Third Team

Aidan Vanderloo;Sioux City East;Jr.

Seybian Sims;Iowa City West;Sr.

Malcolm Clayton;Fort Dodge;Sr.

Dylan Jones;Waukee;Jr.

Hunter Strait;Ankeny Centennial;Sr.

Troy Houghton;CB Abraham Lincoln;Sr.

Van Rees;Sioux City East;Sr.

Brian Dayman;Pleasant Valley;Sr.


Sports reporter

Load comments