ONAWA, Iowa -- Connor Beeck scored 15 points as the MVAOCOU boys basketball team defeated OA-BCIG 59-48 in the championship game of the Western Valley Conference tournament on Saturday in Onawa.

Calvin Ferris had 14 points for the Rams (11-7).

Landon Ray led OA-BCIG (13-7) with 18 points. Cooper Dejean finished with 12 points and Kaden Ladwig added 10.

MVAOCOU has won the conference tournament four of the last five years.

LE MARS 66, RED CLOUD 56: Alex Irwin scored 23 points as Le Mars downed Red Cloud Saturday in the Sanford Pentagon Classic in Sioux Falls.

Gabe Eckstaine had 14 points and JT Engebretson 11 for the Bulldogs, now 12-5.

Russel Leader Charge led Red Cloud (13-2) with 17 points.

MADISON 62, WESTERN CHRISTIAN 59: No.2 ranked Madison (South Dakota Class A) handed top-ranked Western Christian (Iowa 2A) its first loss of the season in a game played at the Sanford Pentagon in Sioux Falls Saturday evening.

Aaron Fiegen scored 20 points while Jaxon Janke had a double-double with 13 points and 11 rebounds to lead the Bulldogs (15-1). Ben Granstra also scored 20 points to lead the Wolfpack (18-1) while Jacob Vis had 18 and Caleb Harmsen 10. Madison led 34-32 at the half before Western rallied to lead by as many as five points in the third quarter. The game was tied 12 times and the lead changed 14 times in the closely fought game. Trailing 60-59 in the closing seconds, Gransta had a potential go-ahead shot roll off the rim and Madison was able to add two free throws to clinch the win.

Late Friday

DENISON-SCHLESWIG 70, CLARINDA 53: Cameron Webb scored 23 points and grabbed 10 rebounds as the Denison-Schleswig boys defeated Clarinda in a Hawkeye 10 Conference game on Friday in Clarinda.

Ben Pardun had 13 points for the Monarchs (9-9) and Goanar Biliew added 10.

Clarinda drops to 6-12.

SIBLEY-OCHEYEDAN 73, OKOBOJI 65: Grant Brouwer scored 25 points and Preston Marco 20 as Sibley-Ocheyedan trimed Okoboji in a Siouxland Conference contest on Friday.

Cris Halbur led Okoboji with 22 points, Jamison Helmer 12 and Kyle Martin 10.


Load comments