Wolterstorff headlines Saturday's Pizza Ranch Classic at Dordt

2011-03-17T23:41:00Z Wolterstorff headlines Saturday's Pizza Ranch Classic at Dordt Sioux City Journal
March 17, 2011 11:41 pm

SIOUX CENTER, Iowa - Tyler Wolterstorff, a 6-5 senior who led Western Christian's boys basketball team to a second-place finish in last week's Class 2A state tournament, is among 40 athletes who will participate in Saturday's Defender Gold Club/Pizza Ranch all-star games which will be held at Dordt College's DeWitt Gymnasium.

The girls contest will get underway at 5:30 p.m., while the boys game will start around 7:15.

Wolterstorff, a four-year starter, averaged 19.6 points for Western Christian, which went 25-3 this season. Teammates Dustin Douma, David Den Herder and Matt Westra will also represent Coach Jim Eekhoff's club at the event.

Bryce Marra, who averaged 12.2 points for Class 1A state participant Boyden-Hull, will be among the players. Wyatt Vander Voort (11.7 ppg), who helped MOC-Floyd Valley qualify for the Class 3A state tournament, is also slated to participate.

MOC-Floyd Valley's girls also qualified for the Class 3A state tournament. The Dutch will be represented at the Defender Gold Club/Pizza Ranch all-star games by seniors Jessica Locker and Kara Nonnemacher, players who had scoring averages of 8.6 and 8.2 points, respectively.

The all-star games, which first started in 1996, features seniors from the Lakes, Siouxland and War Eagle conferences. There will be a three-point shooting contest at halftime of each game.

Admission for the evening is $6 for adults and $3 for high school students and younger. Teams will be coached by area Pizza Ranch restaurant managers.


Rees Beaver, Sioux Center; Chas Biery, South O'Brien; Brock Dagel, Cherokee; David DenHerder, Western Christian; Dustin Douma, Western Christian; Jacob Fiedler, Remsen-Union; Brian Hansen, Spalding Catholic; Beau Hassebroek, West Lyon; Riley Hoekstra, Unity Christian; Bryce Marra, Boyden-Hull; Mark Miedema, Sioux Center; Dilan Moss, Western Christian; Paxton Strub, Le Mars; Aaron Van Vugt, Unity Christian; Wyatt Vander Voort, MOC-Floyd Valley; Matt Westra, Western Christian; Tyler Wolterstorff, Western Christian; Nick Wuebker, Emmetsburg; Ethan Van Briesen, George-Little Rock; Josh Van Kekerix, Sheldon.


Emily Anderson, Le Mars; Alli Gerking, Spirit Lake; Kayla Gesink, Western Christian; Jessah Fiedler, George-Little Rock; Jenn Hansen, Spalding Catholic; Brenda Hofer, Central Lyon; Onica Jacobs, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn; Tasha Johnson, Akron-Westfield; Katelyn Kragt, Sioux Center; Abby Lammers, Sheldon; Jessica Locker, MOC-Floyd Valley; Hollee Mohni, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn; Ashton Moody, Hinton; Kara Nonnemacher, MOC-Floyd Valley; Sarah Parkinson, Akron-Westfield; Caroline Reinders, Unity Christian; Karlee Stubbe, George-Little Rock; Mallory Thoreson, Hinton; Nikki Van Dyke, Sioux Center; Erica Westhoff, Le Mars.


Copyright 2015 Sioux City Journal. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.