SIOUX CITY | District football assignments for the next two seasons were released on Thursday.

Defending Class A state champion West Sioux moves up to Class 1A and enters District 1 with West Lyon, 2016 state champion Western Christian, Emmetsburg, Sibley-Ocheyedan and Unity Christian.

In Class 2A, Spirit Lake drops down from Class 3A and into District 2 with Algona, Clarion-Goldfield-Dows, Estherville Lincoln Central, Garner-Hayfield-Ventura and Southeast Valley.

Class 3A District 1 remains the same with Heelan, Le Mars, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Spencer and Storm Lake. However, Denison-Schleswig takes Spirit Lake's old spot.

East and North are in Class 4A District 1 with Ankeny, Des Moines Hoover and Lincoln and West Des Moines Dowling. West is in District 2 with Ankeny Centennial, Des Moines Roosevelt, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown and Southeast Polk.

The postseason will remain at 16 teams in all six classes.

Class 4A has seven districts of six teams per district with four non-district games per team. Class 3A through 1A has nine districts of six teams with four non-district games while Class A has eight districts of six team and two with seven.

The six-team districts have four non-district games while the seven-team districts have three. Eight-player has seven districts of eight and one with nine. That give two non-district games in eight-team districts and one in nine.

Only the district champion and teams tying for a district title receive the automatic postseason berth. All nine games will count toward postseason qualification.

The remaining field will be determined using an RPI which has three criteria. First, is the team's overall win-loss percentage, second is the team's opponent's win-loss percentage and finally the team's opponent's opponent's win-loss percentage.

The playing of teams in bordering states of Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, South Dakota, Wisconsin and Kansas was also approved. Out-of-state opponents were last allowed in 2011.


Load comments