Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Andrew Pham


MARSHALLTOWN, Iowa | Some of Andrew Pham’s state qualifying times are better than those he recorded at last year’s state swimming meet.

It’s good news. Perhaps the improved times for the Sioux City Spartans’ senior will lead to better performances and higher finishes as Pham will mark his fourth appearance in Saturday’s state swimming meet which will be held at the Marshalltown YMCA/YWCA.

Pham will aim to improve last year’s ninth-place showings in both the 50 freestyle and the 100 butterfly, events in which he is seeded 11th, based on compiled results from last Saturday’s six statewide district meets. He will also represent Coach Eric Hoak’s Spartans in two relays, the 200 freestyle and the 200 medley.

Pham’s qualifying time in the 50 freestyle (21.73), for instance, is faster than his 21.98 clocking at last year’s state meet. If anything, he has been pushed because three individuals had better times in the event last Saturday at Fort Dodge, including district champion Mitchell Emery of Fort Dodge, who’s seeded fourth (21.45).

Pham state-qualifying 53.05 in the 100 butterfly, good for third place at Fort Dodge is off the pace of last year’s ninth-place state 52.72 clocking. Again, the Missouri River Activities Conference champion in both the 100 butterfly and the 50 freestyle, was pushed at the district meet, where Ames’ Jackson Breen turned the state’s best qualifying time of 50.82.

Pham will be joined in the 100 butterfly at Marshalltown by junior Nathan Gobell.

Pham and sophomore Eli Mollet are back from last year’s 12th-place 200 freestyle relay. They will be accompanied by junior Brenndan Gorski and freshman William Rankin on a foursome whose 12th-seeded qualifying time of 1:29.06 is better than the 1:29.18 they recorded at last year’s state meet.

Pham, Gobell, senior Quincy Markham and sophomore Albert Pham will also represent Sioux City in the 200 medley relay.

Rankin will also compete in the 100 freestyle and as the leadoff swimmer in the 400 freestyle relay. He will be followed by Markham, Gorski and Mollet.


Sports reporter

Load comments