SIOUX CENTER, Iowa | The Central Lyon/George-Little Rock wrestling team crowned four champions and won the Siouxland Conference Tournament here Friday.

CL/GLR finished with 251.5 points, almost 100 points ahead of the next closest team. Gable Sieperda (132), Bryce Vande Weerd (170), Jarrett Meyer (220) and Ross Wiertsema (285) won their respective weight classes for CL/GLR.

Sieperda pinned Blake Abrahamson of Okoboji in the championship match. Vande Weerd pinned Domonick Roskam of Sioux Center, Jarret Meyer won a 2-1 decision over Monte Pottebaum of West Lyon and Ross Wiertsema pinned Stephen Trejo of MOC-Floyd Valley.

Dax De Groot (113), Seth Deatsch (126), Kalen Meyer (145) and Austin Winkel (195) placed second for CL/GLR. Cody Kramer (106), Daniel Schriever (120) and Kolten Bus (182) finished third.

MOC-Floyd Valley crowned one champion, Logan Koedam at 160 pounds, and finished second with 158 points. Koedam pinned Clayton Leng of Sheldon/South O’Brien in the championship match. Johnny Hua (106), Noah Fleming (152), Conner Huss (182) and Stephen Trejo (285) placed second for the Dutchmen. J.J. Okihn (170) and Fernando Mercado (195) finished third.

Sibley-Ocheyedan crowned five champions, the most of any team, and placed third with a team score of 156. Jose Flores (106), Mario Martinez (113), Trey Schuck (126), Mitchell Paca (138) and Hunter DeJong (195) won their respective weight classes. Flores won a 12-3 major decision over Hua in the championship match. Martinez won a 10-8 decision over De Groot, Schuck pinned Deatsch, Paca won an 8-4 decision over William Kooi of West Lyon and DeJong won by technical fall (20-5) over Winkel. Garrett Sarringar (132) placed third for the Generals.

West Lyon crowned one champion, Isaac Bruggeman at 120 pounds, and finished fourth with 153 points. Bruggeman won a 6-2 decision over Jaren Pierce of Sioux Center in the championship match. Kooi and Pottebaum placed second for the Wildcats. Payton Klarenbeek (152) finished third.

Sheldon/South O’Brien crowned one champion, Luke Jenness at 182 pounds, and finished fifth with a team score of 152. Jenness won a 9-6 decision over Huss in the championship match. Leng placed second for Sheldon/South O’Brien. Ian Klein (113), Mason Warnke (138), Jonah Dacken (220) and T.K. Lang (285) finished third.

Sioux Center crowned one champion, Roberto Cardenas at 152 pounds, and finished sixth with 128 points. Cardenas pinned Fleming in the championship match. Pierce and Roskam palced second for the Warriors. Jesse Jara (160) finished third.

Okoboji had a team score of 119.5 and placed seventh. Abrahamson placed second for the Pioneers. Hunter Abrahamson (126) and Tyler Wittrock (145) finished third.

Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley crowned one champion, Austin Rozeboom at 145 pounds, and finished eighth with 78 points. Rozeboom won a 13-3 major decision over Meyer in the championship match.


LE MARS, Iowa | The Spirit Lake wrestling team crowned three champions and won the Lakes Conference tournament here Friday.

Spirit Lake finished with a team score of 224. Kyler Rieck (152), Adam Skopec (160) and Dakoda Powell (220) won their respective weight classes.

Rieck won a 4-1 decision over Tristan Mulder of Western Christian in the championship match. Skopec won a 7-5 decision over Brody Kacmarynski of Spencer and Powell pinned Travis Theisen of Le Mars.

Joe Waters (113), Isaac Dixon (132) and Koltyn Bradley (182) placed second for the Indians. Keegan Bradley (170) and Patrick Bauer finished third.

Storm Lake crowned five champions and finished second with 199 points. Milton Duarte (113), Bradley Brown (126), Christopher Shima (132), Alonzo Rios (138) and Aaron Ungs (182) won their respective weight classes for the Tornadoes.

Duarte won a 10-9 decision over Waters in the championship match. Brown won a 5-0 decision over Damon Williams of Cherokee, Chima won a 4-0 decision over Dixon, Rios won a 13-8 decision over Kade Jurgensen of Cherokee and Ungs won a 10-9 decision over Bradley.

Sumay Oh (120) and Jorge Sandoval (285) placed second for Storm Lake while Kole Wiegert (152) finished third.

Le Mars crowned one champion, Jordan Jensen at 145 pound, and finished third with a team score of 190. Jensen won a 3-1 decision by sudden victory over Isaiah Spencer of Spencer in the championship match. Justin Otto (195) and Theisen placed second for Le Mars. Jackson Sudtelgte (120), Jason Sudtelgte (126) and Jake Francksen-Small (138) finished third.

Spencer crowned one champion, T.J. Arnold at 120 pounds, and finished fourth with 154 points. Arnold pinned Oh in the championship match. Case Cauthron (106), Spencer, Kacmarynski and Brogan Seier (170) placed second for the Tigers. Drew Thompson (195) finished third.

Cherokee crowned two champions and finished fifth with a team score of 150. Mason Hill (106) and Tyler Zeimen (170) won their respective weight classes for the Braves. Hill pinned Cauthron in the championship match and Zeimen pinned Seier. Williams and Jurgensen both placed second for Cherokee while Bronsan Reis (160) and Treighton Schubert (82) finished third.

Western Christian crowned a pair of champions and finished seventh with 109 points. Eli Van Ginkel (195) and Spencer Cox (285) won their respective weight classes for the Wolfpack. Van Ginkel won a 3-2 decision by tiebreaker over Otto and Cox won a 5-1 decision over Sandoval. Mulder placed second for Western Christian and Andrew Cox (145) finished third.


Load comments