COUNCIL BLUFFS, Iowa | Spirit Lake had a strong opening day at the Council Bluffs Classic sitting 14th in the 39 team field.

Spirit Lake's Joe Waters remained unbeaten on the season as he went 4-0 at 106 pounds with three pins and an injury default. Kyler Rieck pinned Woodbury Central's Garrett Arment in 1:55 to go 4-0 on the first day.

Dakoda Powell also enjoyed a perfect 3-0 day for the Indians as he pinned his way to all three wins at 220.

Woodbury Central freshman Beau Klingensmith is in the gold bracket at 106 as he pinned his way through the first day. He opened his gold bracket run with a 21-second pin.

Sergeant Bluff-Luton's Easton Graff went 4-1 at 132 on the opening day with three pins and a 4-0 win over Fort Dodge's Drevon Ross in the first round. Jack Gaukel went 2-2 with a major decision and a decision at 120 and Jacob Sponder had a pair of wins at 285.

Lincoln East leads the team race 186.5-152.5 over Apple Valley (Minn.). Action begins at 10 a.m. Saturday.

CHEROKEE WINS KINGSBURY INVITATIONAL: The Cherokee wrestling team crowned two champions and won the MVAOCOU 2017 Kingsbury Invitational with 197 points here Friday.

Mason Hill (113) and Tyler Zeimen (170) both won their respective weight classes for the Braves. Hill won a 2-0 decision over Colden Bethel of Southeast Valley in the championship match and Zeimen pinned Carter Fluckiger of Southeast Valley.

Treighton Schubert (182) and Wyatt Kraft (220) both placed second for Cherokee while Dane Jurgensen (145) and Bronsan Reis (160) finished third.

West Monona placed fourth with 144.5 points and also crowned a pair of champions in E.J. Hildreth (126) and Marvin Hildreth (138). Wyatt Schoenherr (160) finished second for the Spartans. Sean Pinkelman (132) and Blake DeRocher (152) placed third.

Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn finished fifth with 137.5 points. Chase Verbrugge (126) and Kaleb Schnurr (195) both placed second for the Hawks. Chase Siebrecht (120) finished third.

Maple Valley-Anthon-Oto placed seventh with a score of 116.5 and crowned two champions. Bryce Kafton (120) and Cameron Boyle (152) both won their respective weight classes for the Rams. Dylan Lewis (285) placed third.

Denison-Schleswig finished tied for eighth place with 77 points. Jacob Irwin (170) finished third for the Monarchs.

WEST LYON 49, WESTWOOD 24: West Lyon got pins from Jose Richarz (113), Johnny Perez (132), William Kooi (138), Stefan Van Beek (145) and Payton Klarenbeek (152).

Jeremiah Adams (182) and Nathan Payne (285) both earned pins for Westwood.

WEST LYON 72, WEST 6: West Lyon got pins from Korey Knoblock (106), Kyler Grems (126), William Kooi (138), Payton Klarenbeek (152), Trevor Van Whye (182), Monte Pottebaum (220) and Tommy Roemen (285).

West's lone win came by forfeit.

WEST LYON 57, WESTERN CHRISTIAN 24: The Wildcats handled a shorthanded Wolfpack squad that gave up seven forfeits. Johnny Perez (132), and Zach Hamann had pins for West Lyon.

Western Christian got pins from Daniel Donovan (182) and Spencer Cox (285).

WEST LYON 66, SIOUX CENTRAL 6: West Lyon got pins from Isaac Bruggeman (120), Stefan Van Beek (145) and Trevor Van Whye (182).

WESTWOOD 63, WESTERN CHRISTIAN 6: Westwood got pins from Trey Kooker (132), Jarrett Drake (160) and Jeremiah Adams (182).

WESTWOOD 75, WEST 6: Westwood got eight pins from Brady Brown (126), Hunter Hanner (138), Nathan Fylstra (145), Bralio Munoz (152), Jarrett Drake (160), Jeremiah Adams (182), Dillion LaBrune (220) and Nathan Payne (285).

West's lone win came by forfeit.

WESTWOOD 72, SIOUX CENTRAL 12: Westwood got pins from Brennan Brown (120), Brady Brown (126), Sean Westergaard (145), Steven Baker (170) and Jeremiah Adams (182) to roll to victory.

WESTERN CHRISTIAN 36, WEST 30: Western Christian got pins from Matthew Van Otterloo (160), Lincoln Oostenink (170), Daniel Donovan (182), Eli Van Ginkel (220) and Spencer Cox (285).

Carson Goddard (132) had the lone pin for West.

WESTERN CHRISTIAN 36, SIOUX CENTRAL 30: Western Christian got pins from Lincoln Oostenink (170) and Daniel Donovan (182).

Keaton Lindner (132) had the lone pin for Sioux Central.

WEST 47, SIOUX CENTRAL 27: Jarek Wittern (170) had the lone pin for West but the Wolverines won six matches by forfeit.

Sioux Central got pins from Grant Smith (126), Brendan Baier (145) and Devyn Howell (182).


Load comments