You are the owner of this article.
BRUCEBLOG: 'Spotlight' tops Iowa Film Critics awards

BRUCEBLOG: 'Spotlight' tops Iowa Film Critics awards


“Spotlight” topped the Iowa Film Critics Association list for 2015, winning three awards including Best Film.

Director Tom McCarthy took top honors in his category and Mark Ruffalo won Best Supporting Actor.

Two “Steve Jobs” actors won in their categories: Michael Fassbender nabbed Best Actor, Kate Winslet won Best Supporting Actress. And Brie Larson won Best Actress for “Room.”

“Inside Out” was named Best Animated Film, “Amy” was named Best Documentary, “See You Again” from “Fast and Furious 7” won Best Song, and “The Hateful Eight” won Best Score. “45 Years” was selected as the Best Movie Yet to Open in Iowa.

“Mad Max: Fury Road” and “Steve Jobs” were runners-up in the best film category; Leonardo DiCaprio, “Revenant,” and Bryan Cranston, “Trumbo,” were runners-up in the Best Actor category.

Saoirse Ronan, “Brooklyn,” and Charlotte Rampling, “45 Years,” were Best Actress runners-up.

Ruffalo was followed by Sylvester Stallone, “Creed,” and Mark Rylance, “Bridge of Spies.”

Winslet was followed by Alicia Vikander, “The Danish Girl” and “Ex Machina,” and Rooney Mara, “Carol.”

The Iowa Film Critics Association includes a number of Iowa-area journalists working in print, online and in broadcast.


Get Breaking News delivered directly to you.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News