SIOUX CITY -- The Sioux City Growth Organization (SCGO) announced the winners of the 2017 Ripple Awards.

The Individual Award winner is Jeana Goosmann and the Business Award recipient is Ho-Chunk Inc.

SCGO presented the awards Sept. 28 during its celebration of Sioux City Young Professionals Day hosted at The Diving Elk.

Each year, the SCGO Ripple Awards are given out to an individual and business who have made a significant "ripple" or positive impact in the community by excelling in their efforts to attract, retain, grow and develop the Siouxland community.

Jeana Goosmann is CEO and managing partner of Goosmann Law Firm in Sioux City. After becoming an entrepreneur and starting her firm in 2009, she has grown her practice to a team of more than 40, creating jobs in the community, purchasing and renovating two historic downtown buildings, and she strongly promotes community involvement.

Ho-Chunk Inc. gives back to the community by providing opportunities for its employees to get involved and through its continued Siouxland developments. Ho-Chunk encourages its employees to become involved in the community and you can find many employees sitting on a variety of boards in the Siouxland area, including CEO Lance Morgan, the outgoing president of the Siouxland Chamber of Commerce; CIO Dennis Johnson, president of Downtown Partners and a member of the Sioux City Public Schools Foundation Finance Committee; and COO Annette Hamilton, a current board member of the Mercy Medical Center.