VERMILLION, S.D. | Defending South Dakota Class A state boys golf champion Tea Area edged Dakota Valley by three shots to win the Vermillion Invitational Thursday at The Bluffs.

Tea Area totaled 333, led by medalist Kolby Newborg, who shot 37-37—74 and won a playoff over Jacob Lee of Parkston, who carded 39-35—74. Lee is the defending Class A state individual champion.

Dakota Valley’s Jack Furlong finished fourth individually with 39-40—79 and Tanner Hensley sixth at 38-44—82. The Panthers’ 330 total also included Paul Bruns with 39-49—88 and Evan Monnell 48-50—98.

Easton Keuck of Elk Point-Jefferson was eighth with a score of 44-38—82 while teammate Tyler Leif placed 10th with 45-39—84.


Team standings: Tea 330, Dakota Valley 333, Vermillion 337, Lennox 355, Parkston 356, Beresford 358, West Central 363, Dell Rapids 384, MCCook Central Montrose 470, Canton 454.

Top 15 finishers (medalists): Kolby Newborg, Tea Area, 37-37--74; Jacob Lee, Parkston 39-35--74; Brock Murphy, Tea Area, 36-42--78; Jack Furlong, Dakota Valley, 39-40--79; Hunter Lavin, Vermillion, 39-41--80; Tanner Hensley, Dakota Valley, 38-44--82; Ryne Whisler, Vermillion, 43-39--82; Easton Keuck, Elk Point-Jefferson, 44-38--82; Nick Gabbert, West Central, 38-45--83; Tyler Leif, Elk Point-Jefferson, 45-39--84; San Nelson, Beresford, 42-42--84; Keaton Hensley, Dakota Valley, 42-42--84; Eric Munson, Tea Area, 43-42--85; Mason Schmidt, Dell Rapids, 41-45--86; Willis Robertson, Vermillion, 44-42--86.