Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Tran named to Grinnell Dean's List 

GRINNELL, Iowa | Tin Tran has been named to the Grinnell College Dean's List for the spring semester 2017. To make the list, students must have a GPA of 3.75 or above. 

Tran is the child of Ms. Anhloan Nguyen and Mr. Thiep Tran of Sioux City. 

Area youths receive state 4-H awards

AMES, Iowa | Fifty Iowa 4-H'ers have received 2017 state 4-H project awards. Each recipient received a $100 monetary award from Glen and Mary Jo Mente of Ames and the Iowa 4-H Foundation. 

Connor Pickhinke of Sac County, is the son of Steve and Tracy Pickhinke. He is the president of his 4-H club and a member of his 4-H council. 

Allison Bermel is a seven-year 4-H member from Bishop Heelan Catholic High School. She is the daughter of Lonnie and Lori Bermel.

Kiley Boeshart is the daughter of Jim and Dawn Boeshart and also attends Bishop Heelan. She serves on her county 4-H council and County Youth Community. 

Nicholas McGowan attends Bishop Heelan and is a six-year member of 4-H. He is the son of Chris and Kathleen McGowan. He has served as his club's historian, recreation chair and fundraising chair. 

Sheryl McGowan, daughter of Chris and Cathleen McGowan, is a 4-H member from Woodbury County. McGowan has been the president, vice president, treasurer, secretary and historian of her 4-H club. 

Pickhinke, Bermel and Sheryl McGowan received awards in the area of communication. Kiley Boeshart's award was in the area of citizenship and Nicolas McGowan's award was in the area of STEM. 

University of Northern Iowa area spring graduates

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa | 1,404 students received degrees during the University of Northern Iowa spring commencement ceremony.

Area students include: Shawn Kunkel of Moville, Iowa; Meredith Camerer of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa; Abigail Bowman, Kailey Buckstead, Jody Ferris, Carly Hanson, Christina Lanphier, Blake Lynch, Simeon Moes, Mariah Rodriguez, Gabrielle Weber, Jacob Weber, Julian Ysquierdo, Justin Smits, all of Sioux City, Iowa. 

University of Northern Iowa Spring 2017 Dean's List 

CEDAR FALLS, Iowa | The following area students have been named to the UNI Dean's List: Jenna Knaack of Correctionville, Iowa; Ethan Schultzen of Moville, Iowa; Kelsey Whitney of Salix, Iowa; Meredith Camerer, Ebonnee Cook, Ashtin Hazel, Kayla McCumber, Paige McGrath, Duece Phaly, Madisyn Shaffer, Jacob Zahner, all of Sergeant Bluff, Iowa; Caroline Balius, Lexa Balius, Abigail Bowman, Kailey Buckstead, Sierra Chapman, Karne Croston, Nicholas Croston, Natalia Estrada, Kathryn Fox, Rhea Greer, Daniel Hanson, Caitlin Havens, Tianna Heien, Steven Hoopingarner, Rachael Johnson, Makayla Knight, Megan Koob, Abby Krei, Keeleigh Malchow, Courtney Massey, Minh Thu NguyenChristine Newbrough, Paige Schorg, Anya Shorey, Leah Sudtelgte, Ashley Wurster, Samantha Zeman, all of Sioux City; Justin Smits of Sloan, Iowa. 

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments