Subscribe for 33¢ / day

DAKOTA CITY -- Dakota County voters elected Republican and Democratic nominees for two open county commission seats Tuesday.

Janet Gill, of Jackson, and Troy Launsby, of Homer, were the top two Republican vote-getters, according to unofficial election results posted on the Dakota County Clerk's website Tuesday night. Gill received 298 votes, while Launsby got 239 votes.

Larry Albenesius, of Jackson, and Ron Hartnett, of Dakota City, led the way for the Democrats with 275 votes and 221 votes, respectively. All four candidates advance to the November general election.

Republican incumbents William "Billy" Rhode, of Homer, and Kevin Love, of South Sioux City, each decided not to seek another four-year term.

The crowded nine-candidate GOP field also included Richard McNear, of Hubbard; Jasper J. Kriens, of South Sioux City; Dennis W. Harris, of Homer; Maira Tripp, of South Sioux City; Greg Utech, of Hubbard; Kevin Chambers, of Homer; and former Dakota County commissioner and South Sioux City mayor and councilman Bill McLarty, of South Sioux City.

The other Democrats on Tuesday's ballot were Randy Groetken, of Dakota City, and Lue Franco, of South Sioux City. Bill Engle, a former county commissioner, waged a write-in campaign.


Health and Lifestyles reporter

Load comments