Subscribe for 33¢ / day

SIOUX CITY | It was a clean sweep for the three incumbents on the Sioux City Council Tuesday night, as Dan Moore, Alex Watters and Pete Groetken cruised to new four-year terms.

With 13 of 14 precincts reporting, Moore led the six-candidate field with 3,169 votes. Watters finished second with 3,071 votes and Groetken was third with 2,745 votes, according to unofficial results.

The incumbent easily outdistanced the three challengers -- Denny Quinn, Doug Waples and Jake Jungers, all of whom were seeking elected office for the first time. Quinn finished a distant fourth with 1,442 votes, followed by Waples with 1,261 votes and Jungers with 1,156.

Voters on Tuesday could select up to three candidates on their ballots, with the top three vote-getters winning the three at-large seats on the council, which is officially non-partisan.

Moore, who also serves as mayor pro-tem, Watters and Groetken will take their new oaths of office in early January, joining holdover members Mayor Bob Scott and Councilwoman Rhonda Capron.

The field for this year's race was whittled down from nine to six candidates during an Oct. 10 primary. Like Tuesday, Moore, Watters and Groetken finished in the top three spots in the primary.

Moore, a longtime Sioux City attorney, and Groetken, a retired police captain, were running for their second terms on the council after receiving the highest vote totals during the 2013 election

Watters, an adviser at Morningside College, was seeking his first full term after the council appointed him in February to fill the remaining 10 months of the term held by Keith Radig, who left the council to serve on the Woodbury County Board of Supervisors. 


City hall reporter

Load comments