Try 1 month for 99¢
Sergeant Bluff industrial park

Sergeant Bluff Mayor Jon Winkel won election to a second term Tuesday, beating City Councilwoman Nicole Cleveland, 388 to 236.

SERGEANT BLUFF | Sergeant Bluff Mayor Jon Winkel cruised to victory Tuesday, beating back a challenge from Councilwoman Nicole Cleveland.

Winkel, a longtime businessman and community volunteer, outdistanced Cleveland, 388 to 236, according to unofficial results.

In Moville, incumbent Mayor Jim Fisher also won re-election, while voters in Danbury and Salix elected new mayors.

Winkel, 70, was first elected in 2013 after staging a write-in campaign. He served as CEO of Long Lines, a Sergeant Bluff-based telecommunications provider, for 32 years before retiring four years ago.

The 32-year-old Cleveland, a Sergeant Bluff native, won her seat on the City Council in 2011 and was re-elected in 2015. Her current term runs through 2020. A former intern for U.S. Sen. Charles Grassley's office, she is currently employed at First Financial Bank in Dakota Dunes.

As mayor in his second term, Winkel said he would like to help finish the progress the city has made with him at the helm, mentioning a more than $100 million increase in the city's assessed valuation and completion of the first certified industrial site on the western side of the state. Winkel also said he wants to continue expanding the city's commercial tax base and see businesses begin to move into the 130-acre site.

Winkel spoke to the Journal via phone from Cedar Rapids, Iowa, where he cheered on the Sergeant Bluff-Luton volleyball team as the Warriors won their opening match in the state tournament, defeating rival Bishop Heelan Catholic, 3-1. 

"(I'm) kind of on top of the world because it is two great wins for our community and most importantly our next generation of young people and their (record) of 41-3 in the volleyball season," Winkel exclaimed.

Three incumbent Sergeant Bluff City Council members -- Carol Clark, Ron Hanson and Bill Gaukel -- ran unopposed for new four-year terms.

"We have a very solid council; they have supported me as mayor and it gives us four more years to really put the icing on the cake on the things we have done the last four years," Winkel said. 

Winkel has also been a part of Sergeant Bluff Fire Rescue for 33 years and has been involved with the Woodbury County Sheriff's Department for about 15 years. He lives in Sergeant Bluff with his wife, Nan, who have two children and five grandchildren.

"I’m really looking forward to serving the community with the council and the staff. And I want to thank all the voters too because without them it wouldn’t happen," Winkel said. "I’m just feeling really good with our volleyball team and our community."

In Moville, Mayor Jim Fisher easily defeated Kirk Lubbers, 223 to 101. Paul E. Malm and Michael Ofert earned the two open council spots with 190 and 144 votes, respectively. The two beat out Jonathan Keselring, Ashley McCabe, Anessa Opsahl and Matt Wise.

Kelly Kreber won a two-year term as the mayor of Hinton. She beat Randy Roehrich 100-54. Katie Pierson and Jeff Felts won the two open council spots with 129 and 90 votes, respectively.  

In the Salix mayoral race, Stan Johnson beat Kevin Nelson, 48 to 23.

In Danbury, Michael Buth was elected mayor over JoLynn Wright, 95 to 10. 

Below are results from contested mayoral and council races in Woodbury County cities Tuesday.


(2 of 2 precincts reporting)

City Council (vote for no more than three): Barbara L. Benson, 88; Bradley A. Dose, 37; Lisa M. Petersen, 78; Tammy E. Reimer, 102.


(2 of 2 precincts reporting)

City Council (vote for no more than three): James D. Amick, 42; Jason Garnand, 43; Gordon E. Ingebritson, 15; Joshua I. Madsen, 23; Chad Merchant, 33, David West, 27.


(2 of 2 precincts reporting)

City Council (vote for no more than three): Robert Beazley, 99; Darin Byers, 18; Calvin McCrea, 89; Stacy Orndorff, 48; Ronald Sanderson, 82.


(2 of 2 precincts reporting)

Mayor: Michael Buth, 95; JoLynn Wright, 10.

City Council (vote for no more than two): Joseph Allen, 17; Darlene Fitzpatrick, 30; Steve N. Halbur, 48; Cris Melendez, 3; Richard Mills, 10; Kathy Scholl, 54; Randi Uhl, 13; Jason Weber, 22.


(2 of 2 precincts reporting)

City Council (vote for no more than two): Eric R. Bebee, 10; Dani Davidson, 18; Dale Ronfeldt, 14.


(2 of 2 precincts reporting)

City Council (vote for no more than two): Jeremy Baltushi, 154; Terry Johnson, 104; Terry Masching, 109; Patrick V. Saunders, 166.


(2 of 2 precincts reporting)

Mayor: James Fisher, 223; Kirk Lubbers, 101.

City Council (vote for no more than two): Jonathan Keselring, 69; Paul E. Malm, 190; Ashley McCabe, 115; Michael W. Ofert, 144; Anessa Opsahl, 23; Matt Wise, 54.


(2 of 2 precincts reporting)

Mayor: Stan Johnson, 48; Kevin Nelson, 23.

City Council (vote for no more than three): Russell Black, 62; Sharla Dicks, 51; Bryan Farris, 30; Jeremy Hansen, 51.

Sergeant Bluff

(2 of 2 precincts reporting)

Mayor: Jon Winkel, 388, Nicole Cleveland, 231

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Crime and general assignment reporter

Load comments