Two newcomers to join Sioux City school board

Two newcomers to join Sioux City school board


SIOUX CITY -- The Sioux City Community Schools Board of Education will have some fresh faces after voters elected two newcomers to the seven-member board Tuesday.

Challengers Michael McTaggart and Mike Krysl and incumbents Jackie Warnstadt and Walt Johnson won in a six-way race.

Board Vice President John Meyers, a two-term incumbent, lost his re-election bid, and Robert Cannon was unsuccessful in his first run for public office.

McTaggart, a retired teacher and administrator, led all candidates with 2,721 votes. He was followed by Krysl, with 2414 votes, and Warnstadt, 2,406 votes. Johnson barely edged out Meyers, 1,998-1955, for the last of the four open spots.

Cannon garnered 773 votes.

Krysl, a member of the district's advisory committee, said student achievement needs to be a top priority but believes finances will be the school system's biggest challenge in the years ahead.

"There's really not enough money to do everything we might like to do and, in some cases, might need to do ...," said Krysl, owner of a Sioux City-based advertising agency. "The balance that needs to be struck is the balance between fiscal discipline and doing what's best for the students enrolled in our district."

Warnstadt, who earned her second term on the board, also said the district's finances would once again take up the majority of the board's time.

"Until we do something about the property tax inequity, it's not going to change," Warnstadt said.

For that reason, she lamented the defeat of Meyers, who served 29 years as the city of Sioux City's finance director.

Attempts to reach Meyers were not successful Tuesday night. Warnstadt chalked the loss up to a field of quality candidates, which she said was surprising without a controversy to draw interest.

"I think we will do well," she said of the new board. "I think we will miss Mr. Meyers' expertise in finance, and the rest of us are going to have to do our homework and get up to speed because we depended on John."

McTaggart could not be reached for comment Tuesday night.

Tuesday's winners will join Doug Batcheller, Nancy Mounts and Molly Williams, whose terms were not up this election cycle.



Get local news delivered to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Michael Joseph Ryan, 49, of Omaha, formerly of Sioux City, went to his eternal resting place Saturday, Jan. 18, 2020.

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News