SIOUX FALLS, S.D. — South Dakota men’s basketball has two first-team all-Summit League picks, three of the five on the all-newcomer team, the Coach of the Year in Craig Smith and the Transfer of the Year in Matt Mooney as the conference announced its men’s basketball awards Thursday.

Mooney and Tyler Flack both earned first-team all-Summit League status while Mooney, Trey Burch-Manning and Trey Dickerson were named to the five-person all-Newcomer Team. They, along with fellow starter Carlton Hurst, helped lead the Coyotes to their first regular season Summit League championship and the No. 1 seed at this weekend’s Summit League Tournament. Hurst was a leading candidate for both the all-Newcomer Team and Defensive Player of the Year.

Mooney, a sophomore, is the first Coyote to be named Transfer of the Year. Mooney finished as the third-leading scorer in conference play at 21.1 points per game. He was also second in steals with 42. He shot 48 percent from the field and averaged 4.9 rebounds and 2.1 assists.

Flack, the team’s lone senior, averaged 18.2 points, 5.7 rebounds and nearly two blocks per game in conference play.

Burch-Manning, a sophomore, and Dickerson, a junior, have both started all 31 games this season. Burch-Manning, who competed at North Idaho College last year, averaged 9.2 points in Summit play and was the league’s fourth-leading rebounder at 7.8 per game. Dickerson, who transferred in from Iowa, averaged 10.7 points and nearly three assists.

Smith, the NAIA National Coach of the Year in 2007, is Summit Coach of the Year for the first time. Smith took a team picked to finish seventh by the preseason poll and made it outright champion. Of the other 31 Division I conferences, the only team picked to finish lower that has won or is leading its conference is New Orleans of the Southland (picked ninth by coaches and 10th by SIDs). Smith did it by going 7-1 at home and 5-3 on the road in conference play. He has led South Dakota to its first 20-win season since the 2009-10 season.

South Dakota (21-10) takes a six-game winning streak into Saturday’s 6 p.m. contest against Western Illinois at the Denny Sanford Premier Center in Sioux Falls.