Try 3 months for $3
Chris Streveler

South Dakota quarterback Chris Streveler pauses after scoring a touchdown during the first half of a game against New Mexico.

VERMILLION, S.D. | University of South Dakota senior quarterback Chris Streveler is one of three finalists for the Walter Payton Award given annually to the top offensive player in FCS football.

Streveler, along with Sam Houston State senior quarterback Jeremiah Briscoe and UC Davis junior wide receiver Keelan Doss, are invited to attend the STATS FCS Awards Banquet Jan. 5 in Frisco, Texas, where the winner will be announced.

Streveler would be the first player from the Missouri Valley Football Conference (MVFC) to win the award and the first Coyote to officially be named national player of the year. Streveler, Briscoe and Doss emerged from a field of 25 finalists in voting by a national panel of 151 sports information directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries following the regular season.

Streveler just completed the eighth-most prolific season in FCS history in terms of total offense. He passed for an MVFC and USD record 4,134 yards and led the Coyotes with 720 yards rushing for a total of 4,854 yards, most in MVFC and USD history. He accounted for 43 touchdowns (32 passing, 11 rushing), which makes him second nationally in points responsible for.

South Dakota’s first MVFC Offensive Player of the Year recipient, Streveler passed for a school and FCS record 520 yards in last Saturday’s second-round 54-42 loss to Sam Houston State. He accounted for six total touchdowns (five passing) and also established an FCS playoff record with his 571 yards total offense for a squad that ended the season with an 8-5 record.

Briscoe, who passed for 505 yards and four touchdowns in the win over the Coyotes, won last year’s Walter Payton Award, when he passed for 4,602 yards and 57 touchdowns. Trying to join former Appalachian State quarterback Armanti Edwards as a two-time winner of the award, Briscoe enters this Saturday’s quarterfinal game against Kennesaw State having passed for 4,398 yards and 41 touchdowns.

Doss, the Big Sky Conference’s offensive player of the year, leads the nation with 115 catches and 1,499 yards for seven touchdowns.

The Walter Payton Award, presented on the eve of the national championship game, is named for the legendary College and Pro Football Hall of Fame running back who starred at Jackson State in the early 1970s. It has been presented every year since 1987.


Load comments