Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Sioux Central at West Sioux football

West Sioux's Jake Lynott is the captain of the Class A INA All-State team.

DES MOINES | Undefeated West Sioux won the school’s first state title less than a week ago and now the Falcons were honored with eight first-team all-state selections by the Iowa Newspaper Association on Tuesday. A total of 37 Siouxland players were named to the top team in the six classes.

Senior running back Jake Lynott led the way as he was named the captain of the Class A team after the Falcons beat Hudson for the state title 35-14. Lynott rushed for a school record 2,620 yards and 36 touchdowns on an eye-popping 12.1 yards per carry.

A pair of linemen blocking for Lynott were named to the first team in junior Jared Nohava and senior Wyatt Johnson. Falcons sophomore quarterback Hunter Dekkers was the first team quarterback after throwing for 2,396 yards, 33 touchdowns and five interceptions.

District 1 dominated the offensive line as Westwood senior Richard Dandurand, MVAO/COU senior Colten Nelson and Ridge View junior and University of Iowa commit Ezra Miller completed the line.

The Falcons also had four players chosen for the top team on defense in linemen Darlyn Marquez, a senior, and junior Conner Koopmans as well as linebackers in junior Chase Koopmans and senior Zach Hulshof. Hulshof led the Falcons with 83.5 tackles and 27 tackles for loss. Chase Koopmans had 70 tackles and seven sacks while Conner Koopmans had four fumble recoveries.

Akron-Westfield junior defensive back Nick Jacobs and senior wide receiver Conner Anderson along with Sioux Central junior running back Ben Hargens, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn junior Seth Morphew and Woodbury Central senior punter Nick Phelps rounded out the Class A first team picks. Jacobs tied for the team lead with five interceptions while Anderson had 729 yards receiving, Hargens ran for 1,549 yards to finish fifth in Class A, Morphew had five interceptions while Phelps averaged a state-best 44.4 yards per punt with a long of 81.

The Sioux City metro teams combined to have 15 players selected between the four teams in two classes.

District champion Sergeant Bluff-Luton had a pair of first-team players in Class 3A after completing a perfect regular season. Junior running back Britton Delperdang and linebacker Colby Klingensmith were honored on the top team. Delperdang ran for 1,678 yards and 18 touchdowns while Klingensmith had 47 tackles and two sacks.

Two of Bishop Heelan’s offensive linemen in Diego Samaniego and Brandon Karnes were first-team picks as was defensive back Drew Olsen. The linemen blocked for a rushing attack that gained more than 2,000 yards while Olsen led the Crusaders with five interceptions.

Storm Lake, which finished just outside of the playoffs at 6-3, put offensive linemen Jorge Sandoval and Kail Shannon on the first team along with linebacker Brayden Hoops. Hoops led the Tornadoes with 87 tackles.

Spirit Lake’s Ben Steffens was named the top kicker in 3A as he made four field goals, including a 53-yarder, and had 12 touchbacks.

The Warriors also put junior receiver Conner Groves and senior lineman Brody Eaton on the second team while seniors Max Camerer on the offensive line and Ty Boekelman, a defensive back, were on the third team.

Crusaders senior running back Saybein Clark was a second-team pick and defensive lineman Hunter Hope was on the third team.

Class 4A was led by three Sioux City East selections led by first-team selection senior Sam Hildahl on the offensive line. Junior Blake Budde was named to the second team defensive line for the Black Raiders, and senior James Page was a third-team defensive back.

North senior Noah Bootsma was a third-team selection for the Stars at defensive back.

Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley, a Class 2A semifinalist, saw senior linebacker Austin Rozeboom and senior wide receiver Cade Moser named to the first team while Central Lyon/George-Little Rock senior Austin Winkel and Sheldon senior Ryan Van Marel were honored on the defensive and offensive lines, respectively.

Moser led the team with 47 receptions for 939 yards and nine touchdowns while Rozeboom led the Nighthawks with 65.5 tackles and 21 tackles for loss. Rozeboom is a repeat first-teamer from last year’s state champion squad.

West Lyon, a Class 1A state semifinalist, had three first-team players in senior wide receiver Dylan Snyders and senior linebackers Monte Pottebaum and Tanner Oleson. Snyders led the Wildcats in receiving with 28 receptions for 451 yards and 11 touchdowns. Pottebaum led the team in tackles with 59 stops and Oleson had 30 tackles.

State runner-up Remsen St. Mary’s had three first-teamers in senior running back Canaan Cox, senior wide receiver Carter Kuchel and senior Brett Galles. Sophomore defensive back Bryce Coppock of Newell-Fonda was also named to the top team.

Cox finished second in eight-player with 2,892 yards and led the way with 47 touchdowns. Kuchel was second in receiving yards with 1,017 and had 12 touchdowns. Galles paced the defense with 124 tackles, 39 for loss and five solo sacks. Coppock led Newell-Fonda with six interceptions.

Iowa City West's Evan Flitz (4A), Harlan's Nick Foss (3A), Williamsburg's Ben Subbert (2A), Van Meter's Carson Rhodes (1A) and Don Bosco's Austin Svoboda (eight-player) were the other captains.


Sports editor

Load comments