Kelsey Kannenberg


SIOUX CITY | Team White swept Team Blue 7-5, 10-9 during the eighth annual Tri-State Fastpitch Senior Showcase softball series Tuesday afternoon at West High School.

White led from start to finish in the first game, thanks to a five-run output in the second inning. Kaitlyn Van Der Zwaag of Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley drove in a run when she was hit by a pitch and Laura Brighton (Hinton) followed with an RBI on a bases-loaded walk. Later in the frame, Sydney Jensen (Okoboji) delivered a two-run single.

Van Der Zwaag homered in the fifth inning for White. Christina Konz (Le Mars) was 2-for-3 with a double while Ellie Cropley (Bishop Heelan) and Daylan Shultz (West) each doubled.

Team Blue was blanked until scoring three runs in the sixth inning, a frame that included consecutive two-out RBI singles from Nicole Johnson (Sheldon), Megan Loutsch (MMCRU) and Brooklyn Topf (Westwood). Paige Gaskill (IKM Manning) hit an RBI double to highlight the squad’s two-run seventh inning.

Kelsey Kannenberg (Spirit Lake) doubled twice for Team Blue.

Team White rallied from 7-3 and 9-6 deficits while completing the doubleheader sweep, scoring four runs in the bottom of the seventh inning.

Cassidy Hatcher (West Harrison) hit an RBI single to lift White within 9-7. Later in the frame, Blue committed a two-out error which sent a pair of runs across the plate. Konz’s walk-off RBI single completed the scoring.

Blue had snapped a 3-3 tie with four runs in the fifth inning. Kannenberg broke the deadlock with a two-run single, which was followed by a run from Josie McKee (West Sioux), who had scored on a wild pitch.

White had closed within 7-6 with a three-run sixth inning that included a two-run single from Madi Friedrichsen (East Sac County), but Blue stretched its lead to 9-6 on a two-out, two-run double from Gabby Martinez (Lewis Central).

Hatcher was 2-for-3 with two RBIs and two runs for White while Katelyn Crawford singled twice for Blue.

Participating players for Team White were Ellie Cropley (Heelan), Daylan Shults (West), Sydney Jensen (Okoboji), Laura Brighton (Hinton), Christina Konz (Le Mars), Cassidy Hatcher (West Harrison), Aubrey Wolf (Heelan), Bre Small (Spencer), Lindsay Williams (Cherokee), Kaitlyn Van Der Zwaag (Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley), Madi Friedrichsen (East Sac County), Koralee Heynen (Trinity Christian) and Madison Clayton (West).

Team Blue consisted of Nicole Johnson (Sheldon), Schuylar Ridder (Council Bluffs Thomas Jefferson), Josie McKee (West Sioux), Katelyn Crawford (IKM-Manning), Gabby Martinez (Lewis Central), Paige Gaskill (IKM-Manning), Megan Loutsch (MMCRU), Peyton Gross (IKM-Manning), Alexa Vanden Hull (Sheldon), Kelsey Kannenberg (Spirit Lake), Haylee Halbur (MVAOCOU) and Brooklyn Topf (Westwood).


Load comments