Subscribe for 33¢ / day

MILFORD, Iowa | The Central Lyon/George Little Rock wrestling team crowned one champion and won the Okoboji Invitational here Saturday.

CL/GLR finished with a team score of 197. Gable Sieperda won at 138 pounds by pinning Lucas Hoffman of Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire.

GTRA finished second with 193.5 points, crowning Kolton Roth (145), Nate Larson (160), Treyton Cacek (170) and Carter Murray (182) as champions.

Spirit Lake Park finished third with 164 points. Joe Waters (113), Isaac Dixon (132) and Kyler Rieck (152) won their respective weight classes.

Sibley-Ocheyedan placed fourth with 151 points, crowning Jose Flores (106), Trey Schuck (126) and Hunter DeJong (195) as champions.

Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn finished sixth and crowned Chase Siebrecht (120) as champion.


Team scores: Central Lyon/George-Little Rock 197, GTRA 193.5, Spirit Lake Park 164, Sibley-Ocheyedan 151, West Hancock 137.5, Hartley-Melvin-Sanborn 122, Okoboji 78.5, North Union 53, Fulda-MCC 36, Sioux Central 19.5.

Individual results

106: 1, Jose Flores SO; 2, Cody Kramer CL/GLR; 3, Cade Stearns GTRA.

113: 1, Joe Waters SLP; 2, Mario Martinez SO; 3, Matthew Meyers HMS.

120: 1, Chase Siebrecht HMS; 2, Cain Hansen Okoboji; 3, Brock Grimm GTRA.

126: 1, Trey Schuck SO; 2, Hunter Abrahmson Okoboji; 3, Seth Deatsch CL/GLR

132: 1, Isaac Dixon SLP; 2, Danny Blankenship Fulda-MCC; 3, Blake Abrahamson Okoboji.

138: 1, Gable Sieperda, CL/GLR; 2, Lucas Hoffman, GTRA; 3, Mitchell Paca SO.

145: 1, Kolton Roth GTRA; 2, Nate Cornwall SLP; 3, Dahson DeJong SO.

152: 1, Kyler Rieck SLP; 2, Spencer Roth GTRA; 3, Trevor Kruse North Union.

160: 1, Nate Larson, GTRA; 2, Keegan Bradley SLP; 3, Braeden Schulte CL/GLR.

170: 1, Treyton Cacek GTRA; 2, Tate Hagen West Hancock; 3, Dylan Winkel CL/GLR.

182: 1, Carter Murray GTRA; 2, Kolten Bus CL/GLR; 3, Koltyn Bradley SLP/

195: 1, Hunter DeJong SO; 2, Caleb Eckels West Hancock; 3, Bryce Vande Weerd CL/GLR.

220: 1, Hunter Hagen West Hancock; 2, Dakoda Powell SLP; 3, Austin Winkel CL/GLR.

285: 1, Chandler Redenius West Hancock; 2, Ross Wiertsema CL/GLR; 3, Jarrett Fastert CL/GLR.


ORANGE CITY, Iowa | West Monona won the Dutch Duals with a 4-0 record while the remaining four teams all went 2-2 on the day.

The Spartans posted a 37-36 win over MOC-Floyd Valley as they got the extra point off of a tiebreaker on criteria. West Monona then downed Western Christian 48-15, beat Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley 42-36 and handled West Lyon 51-18.

The Nighthawks downed the Wolfpack 57-18 and West Lyon 51-30.

West Lyon held off the Dutch 42-39, but MOC-Floyd Valley did beat Western Christian 63-9 and BHRV 54-30. The Wildcats posted a 54-30 victory over the Wolfpack.

The Nighthawks' Caleb Westra (113 pounds), Austin Rozeboom (152), Austin Roemeling (160), Conner Huss (182) and Chris Van Der Brink (220) all won their weight classes on the day.

West Monona had champions at 126 with Everett Hildreth, Sean Pinkelman (132) and Marvin Hildreth (138).

MOC-Floyd Valley's Johnny Hua (106) and Fernando Mercado (195), West Lyon's Isaac Bruggeman (120) and Western Christian's Spencer Cox (285) also had the best day at their weights.

BECKER WINS AT TOP OF THE ROCK: Dakota Valley’s Collin Becker was crowned champion at 170 pounds at the Top of the Rock tournament on Saturday in Dell Rapids, South Dakota.

Becker pinned Blake Gessner of McCook Central-Montrose in the championship match.

Dakota Valley finished ninth with 36 points.

SOUTH SIOUX PLACES SIXTH: The South Sioux City wrestling team placed sixth at the 72nd Annual Vern Ekfelt Invitational here Saturday.

Alex Sotelo (126) and Luis Quezada (220) both placed second for the Cardinals. Izzy Miranda (132) and Jacob Ngeleka (285) finished third. Jaime Garcia-Contreras (152) placed fourth, Armando Chavez (170) finished fifth, Robert Meza (145) took sixth and Marcos Rodriguez finished seventh (138).

Bellevue East won with 180.5 points and crowned three champions.

OA-BCIG CROWNS FOUR AT DOUG WOOD: The OA-BCIG wrestling team crowned four champions and finished in second place with 175 points at the Doug Wood Invitational on Saturday in Manson, Iowa.

Jake Nieman (113), Kurtis Krager (126), Devin Behrendsen (182) and Blake Anderson (195) each won their respective weight classes. Nieman pinned Nolan Blair of West Bend-Mallard in the championship match. Krager pinned Nathan Thomsen of East Sac County. Behrendsen pinned Austin Corbin of East Sac County and Anderson won a 3-0 decision over Daltonj Chipp of Hampton Dumont.

Tyler Anderson (220) and Ryder Meek (285) both placed second for OA-BCIG while Ethan Mortensen (145) finished third.

Alta-Aurelia finished sixth with 114 points and crowned two champions in Alex DeRoos (170) and Nicholas Gaes (220). DeRoos pinned Garrett Bales of Ogden in the championship match and Gaes pinned Anderson of OA-BCIG. Schade Larson (120) placed second.

Ridge View finished eighth with 84.5 points. Lance Else (160) placed second for the Raptors.

WESTWOOD 45, SAINT ANSGAR 36: Westwood got pins from Hunter Hanner (132), Steven Baker (170) and Zach Adams (195) at the St. Ansgar dual tournament on Saturday.

WESTWOOD 52, GARNER-HAYFIELD/VENTURA 30: Brady Brown (126) had the lone pin for Westwood in a 52-30 win over Garner-Hayfield/Ventura on Saturday.

CLEAR LAKE 66, WESTWOOD 12: Dillion LaBrune (220) and Nathan Payne (285) both recorded pins for Westwood.

NORTHWOOD-KENSETT 45, WESTWOOD 33: Nathan Payne (285) won by decision and Westwood won five matches by forfeit.

DUBUQUE WAHLERT 57, WESTWOOD 15: Westwood got pins from Brennan Brown (120) and Hunter Hanner (132).


Load comments