Subscribe for 33¢ / day

ORANGE CITY, Iowa - For the second straight year, Northwestern College senior setter Kaitlin Beaver has won first-team honors on the 2010 Tachikara NAIA Volleyball All-America team, which was released by the NAIA's selection committee late Monday afternoon.

Beaver, a 6-footer from Sioux Center, Iowa, was one of two high selections for Coach Kyle Van Den Bosch's Red Raiders. Second-team outside hitter Hillary Hanno, a 5-10 senior outside hitter from Sioux City, was also a key player for a 36-2 team that went 1-2 in pool play at last week's NAIA national tournament held at the Tyson Events Center in Sioux City.

Dordt middle blocker Kendra Potgeter was a second-team selection. Honorable mention honors went to Dordt libero Dorinda Hibma and Morningside middle blocker Liz Sutherland.

Beaver, one of five repeat first-team All-Americans, guided one of the best hitting attacks (.257) in the NAIA that averaged over 13 kills per set. She averaged 10.5 per game.

Beaver, the Great Plains Athletic Conference player of the year, also led the league with 59 ace serves. She totaled 76 blocks while also averaging 1.6 kills and 1.9 digs for the GPAC regular-season and tournament champions.

A third-team NAIA All-American as a sophomore, Beaver closes her Northwestern career ranked second all-time in assists (4,162) and third in ace serves (215).

Hanno, a former Bishop Heelan High School standout, won second-team All-American honors for the second straight year. An honorable mention choice in 2008, Hanno led the GPAC with an average of 4.04 kills per game for a squad that went 16-0 while winning the league title for the third straight season.

Hanno totaled 565 kills. A .282 hitter, Hanno also supplied 61 blocks and 41 ace serves while also averaging 2.5 digs. Third on Northwestern's career list with 2,011 kills, Hanno hit .286 in four seasons with the Red Raiders, averaging 3.6 kills.

Potgeter, a 6-1 senior from Byron Center, Mich., won second-team honors for the first time since the 2008 season.

Potgeter led the NAIA with an average of 1.63 blocks per game. She also averaged 3.3 kills and had .356 kill efficiency for the Defenders, who were 12-4 in the GPAC and 32-8 overall.

Hibma, a 5-9 senior from Sioux Center, was an honorable mention All-American for the second straight year. She ranked second in the country with 1,003 digs and third with an average of 6.54 digs, which was third, overall. She also led the Defenders with 47 ace serves.

Sutherland, a 6-2 junior from Sioux City, led Morningside (17-16, 7-9 GPAC) in kills (330), kill efficiency (.377), solo blocks (45) and block assists (72). Her hitting percentage was the third highest single-season mark in school history. Heading into her senior season, she ranks second all-time in kill efficiency (.357) and third in blocking average (1.00).

Columbia (Mo.) setter Paula Ferreira has been named the 2010 NAIA player of the year. A 5-8 sophomore from Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Ferreira helped guide the runners-up of the national tournament to a 42-3 record, leading the Cougars in kill efficiency (.408) and assists (1,593).

Columbia, which reached the national title game for the first time since 2005, also placed outside hitter Vesna Trivunovic on the first team.

Fresno Pacific (35-2), the four-time national champion, had two first-teamers, outside hitters Martina Gregusova and Keke Wang.

NAIA Volleyball All-America Teams

First Team

&Kaitlin Beaver, S, Sr., Northwestern (Iowa); &Ingrid Carmona, OPP, So., California Baptist; %Paula Ferreira, S, So., Columbia (Mo.); &Arlene Ferreira, OH, Jr., Lee (Tenn.); Nicole Graybeal, MB, Jr., Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); &Martina Gregusova, OH, Jr., Fresno Pacific (Calif.); ^Tabitha Henken, OH, Jr., Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.); Xiaoting Ma, OH, Sr., Oklahoma City; Danica Markovic, OH, Fr., Texas-Brownsville; ^Amber Ridens, OPP, Sr., Concordia (Calif.); Lindsey Stone, S, Sr., Southern Oregon; Vesna Trivuinovic, OH, Jr., Columbia (Mo.); %Katie VanderMeer, S, Sr., Aquinas (Mich.);&Keke Wang, OH, Sr., Fresno Pacific (Calif.).

Second Team

^Jackie Albrecht, MB, Sr., Mount Vernon Nazarene (Ohio); Lauren Crump, S, So., Indiana East; Ana Guerra, MB, Fr., Texas-Brownsville; Abby Hall, OH, Jr., Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Tavea Hampton, OH, Sr., Biola (Calif.); ^Hillary Hanno, OH, Sr., Northwestern (Iowa); Sarah Harris, MB, So., College of Idaho; Rupia Inck, OH, Fr., Oklahoma Baptist; Jessica Lopez, OPP, Sr., Willey (Texas); Kendra Potgeter, MB, Sr., Dordt (Iowa); ^Kelsey Pritchard, OH, Jr., Taylor (Ind.); Whitney Radcliffe, OPP, Jr., Azusa Pacific (Calif.); Susan Rollman, MB, So., Doane (Neb.); ^Lisa Shilling, MB, Sr., Fresno Pacific (Calif.).

Third Team

Deddy Alaimaleata, OPP, Jr., Lewis-Clark State (Idaho); Amy Alkazin, MB, Jr., Azusa Pacific (Calif.); Betsy Brown, S, Jr., Taylor (Ind.); Yiting Cao, OPP, Jr., Spring Hill (Ala.); Christine Douglas, OH, So., Biola (Calif.); Jelena Dragovic, MB, Fr., California Baptist; Shannon Fee, OH, Sr., Jamestown (N.D.); Ashley Hamilton, OH, Jr., Indiana Tech; Sarah Holgen, OH, Jr., Southern Oregon; Devon Jensen, OH, Fr., Grand View (Iowa); Brooke Marino, OPP, So., Concordia (Calif.); Sara Ooms, MB, Sr., Trinity Christian (Ill); Bree Rauschenbach, MB, Jr., California Baptist; Jami Turrill, OH, Sr., Shawnee State (Ohio).

Honorable Mention

Peni Acayo, OH, Sr., Goshen (Ind.); Karie Altman, MH, Jr., Madonna (Mich.); Ashley Axmann, OH, Fr., Doane (Neb.); Cara Barkes, OH, So., Cincinnati Christian (Ohio); Kristin Barott, S, Jr., Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Veronica Barrientos, MH, Sr., College of the Ozarks (Mo.); Allison Baumgartner, MB, Sr., Montreat (N.C.); Jordan Broady, S, So., Bellevue (Neb.); Sara Brunner, OH, Jr., Rocky Mountain (Mont.); Sara Byrne, MH, Sr., Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Valquiria Caboclo, MB, So., Lee (Tenn.); Kayla Carlisle, MH, Sr., Lee (Tenn.); Meagan EnYart, MH, Jr., Northwestern Ohio; Ellen Fandry, OH, Jr., Lindenwood (Mo.); Fernanda Ferreira, OH, So., Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.); Jennifer Gahagan, OH, Sr., Malone (Ohio); Jordan Goings, S, Jr., Lubbock Christian (Texas); Haley Halcomb, S, Sr., Shawnee State (Ohio); Hannah Herndon, OH, So., William Jewell (Mo.); Dorinda Hibma, L, Sr,, Dordt; Kaley Lyons, MH, So., Evangel (Mo.); Kaylee Miller, OH, So., Graceland (Iowa); Casey Mulryan, MB, Sr., St. Thomas (Texas); Ashley Nickell, OH, Jr., Holy Names (Calif.); Julianne O'Donnell, OH, So., Walsh (Ohio); Haylee Otteson, MH, Sr., Carroll (Mont.); Whitney Owen, L, Sr., College of Idaho; Brooke Pryor, OH, Jr., Baker (Kan.); Amy Royer, OH, Sr., St. Ambrose (Iowa); Amanda Silva, L, Sr., Union (Ky.); Cris Smith, OH, Sr., Mid-America Christian (Okla.); Chelsea Spivey, S, So., Milligan (Tenn.); Erika Stouder, MB, Sr., Indiana Tech; Brianna Strete, MH, So., Indiana East; Liz Sutherland, MH, Jr., Morningside; Adriana Vazquez, S, So., Embry-Riddle (Fla.); Thaise Vieira, MH, Jr., Bethel (Tenn.); Anika Voigt, S, Sr., Wayland Baptist (Texas); Maureen Wardian, MB, Jr., Bellevue (Neb.); Kyla Welch, MB, Sr., Georgetown (Ky.); Krista Yoder, MH, Sr., Lindenwood.

&-2009 First-team All-American

^-2009 Second-team All-American

%-2009 Third-team All-American


Load comments