You are the owner of this article.
Question of the Week

Question of the Week

{{featured_button_text}}

“With the St. Patrick’s Day parade coming on March 17, what is the most Irish thing about you?"

Chad Pauling

Publisher

cpauling@siouxcityjournal.com

"That I'm from Jackson Nebraska originally ... a community with strong Irish heritage. Our school mascot was the shamrock."

Earl Horlyk

Staff Writer

earl.horlyk@lee.net

"I like corned beef and cabbage, I like Guinness. I can also do an Irish jig if given enough corned beef, cabbage and Guinness." 

Mason Dockter

Staff Writer

mdockter@siouxcityjournal.com

"I'm from Corona, South Dakota, which is a town well-known for its beloved, annual St. Patrick's Day parade. I also like corned beef and cabbage."

Diane Dykes

Staff Writer

ddykes@siouxcityjournal.com

"Besides my red hair and my Irish roots? Well, I don't know. I can't talk like an Irishman, drink like an Irishman or act like one. However, I am related to some crazy Irishmen who would do anything for a beer -- like borrowing a train without permission."

Patrick Rooney

Account Executive

prooney@siouxcityjournal.com

"My ancestry… Irish forebears as long back as our records go. Did the Ancestry.com and came back  87 percent  Irish. Plus, 8 percent English/Scottish, well there was this whole Invasion thing, 2 percent Scandinavian, invasion again, the Vikings did found Dublin City, 2 percent Southern Europe, most priests did come from Italy, and we know their inclinations regarding celibacy, and 1 percent Spanish/Portuguese, southern Ireland washed up quite a few sailors from the Spanish Armada sinking, black haired Irish babies for years after. Definitely as Irish as Paddy’s pig."

Nikki Ahlquist

Graphic Designer

Nikki.Ahlquist@lee.net

"Making shamrock cutout cookies and wearing green ‘cuz God forbid I get pinched by some hunk of an Irishmen."

0
0
0
0
0

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.

Topics

News Alerts

Breaking News